Oil and Gold (Shriekback) [2xCD]


  • Expanded edition
  • Includes “This Big Hush” and “Coelocanth” from Michael Mann’s Manhunter
  • 2xCD
  • Out of stock? Find it on eBay!

Out of stock

Tell your Friends!

Disc 1

  1. Malaria ... 4:30
  2. Everything That Rises Must Converge ... 4:04
  3. Fish Below The Ice ... 4:24
  4. This Big Hush ... 6:10
  5. Faded Flowers ... 3:43
  6. Nemesis ... 3:43
  7. Only Thing That Shines ... 4:21
  8. Health And Knowledge And Wealth And Power ... 4:46
  9. Hammerheads ... 4:13
  10. Coelocanth ... 4:10

Disc 2 (Bonus tracks)

  1. Suck (BBC Live At Hatfield Polytechnic 1984) ... 4:56
  2. Mothloop (BBC Live At Hatfield Polytechnic 1984) ... 2:57
  3. Feelers (BBC Live At Hatfield Polytechnic 1984) ... 5:45
  4. Nemesis (Extended Mix) ... 5:55
  5. Nemesis (Arch-Deviant) ... 6:07
  6. Fish Below The Ice (7" Edit) ... 3:51
  7. All Lined Up ... 3:47
  8. My Spine Is The Bassline ... 4:00
  9. Fish Below The Ice (Plankton Enriched Mix) ... 5:52
  10. Fish Below The Ice (Dance Mix) ... 7:01


Additional information

Weight 175 g

Compact Disc (2xCD)

Performing Artist(s)



Disc 1: 10
Disc 2: 10

Catalogue Number



From the Record Label...

Oil and Gold, the third full-length Shriekback album, is widely considered the band's best. Released in 1985 on Island Records in the States and on Arista in the UK and Europe, "Oil And Gold" saw the band metamorphose from contemplative to rocking. The addition of Martyn Barker on drums and Lu Edmonds (Ex Damned) on guitar gives many of the songs an almost punk rock feeling.

"Oil and Gold" is the bridge between the old trio of Barry Andrews, Carl Marsh, and Dave Allen, and the new vehicle for Andrews alone. Longtime singer Marsh left the band halfway through the recording, leaving Andrews to take over the vocals, the album's highlights, including the three opening songs, sung by Marsh, and the hit, `Nemesis', became the band's signature sound.

This enhanced edition comes with a newly re-mastered bonus disc for B-Sides - some never before released on CD - as well as a enhanced booklet with new notes.

A short explanation behind these recommendations..

The focus here on The Soundtracks Shop isĀ soundtracks. However! There’s plenty of great music out there – and you’ll find physical music releases from bands and solo artists recommended by the editorial team right here. Click/tap here to list them all