Cool World (Score) [2CD]

  • Expanded, official release
  • Presented on 2x compact discs
  • New liner notes by Jeff Bond
  • The definitive soundtrack for Cool World!
Tell your Friends!

Additional information


CD (2CD)


38 (Disc 1)
34 (Disc 2)
72 (Total)


75 minutes, 34 seconds (Disc 1)
71 minutes, 17 seconds (Disc 2)

Limited edition?

Yes! (1000 copies licensed and produced)


Press Release:

"Quartet Records and Paramount Pictures present the complete score by Mark Isham (A River Runs Through It, Nell, The Black Daliah) for Ralph Bakshi’s 1992 extravaganza about a comic strip vamp who seeks to seduce her cartoonist creator in order to cross over into the real world. Mixing animation with real images, the film starred Kim Basinger, Gabriel Byrne and Brad Pitt. Although not initially a success, it is now considered a cult classic of the animation genre.

Mark Isham provided a frenetic score written for swing band, traditional orchestra and electronics, all perfectly assembled in one of his most special and imaginative works. The music was recorded by The Munich Symphony Orchestra and a great number of jazz soloists, including Dave Hartley at piano and Isham himself playing the trumpet. Not all of the music was well treated in the film, however: some cues were edited, cut, re-cut, and others removed and replaced by new compositions by John Dickson.

Varèse Sarabande released a CD at the time of the film’s premiere with a generous running time of 60 minutes. Now, we are proud to present the actual score as Isham conceived and recorded it for the film, including many previously unreleased tracks, different edits, mixes and alternates. All of John Dickson’s tracks are included here as well, plus the remastered original Varèse album that was originally produced by Isham. All of the material is presented in stereo from pristine-condition digital scoring session mixes courtesy Paramount Pictures. The lavish 20-page full color booklet includes liner notes by Jeff Bond..."